Verizon Rolls Out 5G To 20 Cities


Verizon is rolling out 5G Ultra Wideband network to 20 more cities. These cities join Chicago and Minneapolis, the world’s first cities to get Verizon’s 5G Ultra Wideband mobility service.

The cities included in this phase are: Atlanta, Boston, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dallas, Des Moines, Denver, Detroit, Houston, Indianapolis, Kansas City, Little Rock, Memphis, Phoenix, Providence, San Diego, Salt Lake City, and Washington DC.

Verizon previously announced it would deploy 5G in select areas of more than 30 U.S. cities in 2019, and will roll out its 5G Home broadband internet service in some of these markets, as well. Additional 5G Ultra Wideband cities will be announced later this year.

5G Ultra Wideband technology uses new radio technology and device hardware to deliver advanced capabilities to consumers and businesses. When customers move outside Verizon’s 5G Ultra Wideband coverage area, devices will pick up the existing 4G LTE network.

Verizon’s plans come on the heels of controversial news from AT&T at the start of this year that it would be deploying 5G coverage nationwide by 2020. AT&T said the service will be delivered over lower band spectrum (sub-6 GHz). AT&T will also continue offering 5G+ coverage over millimeter wave spectrum.

AT&T’s 5G+ network is built on mmWave spectrum technology that offers service with the Nighthawk hotspot. The company is also rolling out a service called 5G Evolution, which uses LTE technology to provide higher speed service. Critics argue that these are both transition networks and neither represent ‘real’ 5G despite being branded as such.

Both AT&T and Verizon will begin offering 5G compatible devices from Samsung this year.