NASCIO Names New Leadership


The National Association of State Chief Information Officers has announced its new leadership for the 2018-19 program year. The association is now led by James Collins, Delaware chief information officer and NASCIO president for the 2018-19 program year. Collins succeeds Oklahoma Chief Information Officer, James “Bo” Reese.

Collins has led several technology modernization projects in Delaware including a partnership with IBM on incorporating blockchain technology into state government transactions.

Collins will also be overseeing the implementation of NASCIO’s new strategic plan, which was released in September. The plan is designed to position the organization as a non-partisan one stop shop for advancing and aligning technology in state and local government. The plan is also designed to help bolster the leadership potential of state CIOs while in office. The plan will be in place through 2020, and will come as more than half of the country is poised to replace its executive leadership.

NASCIO is also focusing more heavily on professional development for state CIOs as they transition away from being merely “the IT guy” and into leaders of more fully digitized governments.

“The executive committee came together in June to discuss the role we envision for CIOs in the world of state IT and how NASCIO can help advance that vision,” NASCIO President and Chief Information Officer for the state of Oklahoma, Bo Reese, noted. “I’m pleased to say that after two days of robust discussion, we believe the strategic vision as we’ve laid out for the next two years will have NASCIO and its members prepared to thrive in this ever-changing IT landscape.”

The incoming executive committee is listed below:

NASCIO’s 2018-19 Executive Committee leaders are:

Executive Committee Officers:
President – James Collins, Chief Information Officer, Delaware
Vice President – Todd Kimbriel, Chief Information Officer, Texas
Secretary/Treasurer – Eric Boyette, Chief Information Officer, North Carolina
Past President – James Reese, Chief Information Officer, Oklahoma

Executive Committee Directors:
Denis Goulet, Chief Information Officer, New Hampshire
Mike Hussey, Chief Information Officer, Utah
Yessica Jones, Chief Technology Officer, Arkansas
Michael Leahy, Chief Information Officer, Maryland
John MacMillan, Chief Information Officer, Pennsylvania
Dewand Neely, Chief Information Officer and Director, Indiana
Mark Raymond, Chief Information Officer, Connecticut
Ed Toner, Chief Information Officer, Nebraska